The girl who circumnavigated Fairyland in a ship of her own making by Catherynne M. Valente

September wants to have grand adventures, so when the Green Wind and his Leopard ask her to come to Fairyland with them, she doesn’t hesitate to say yes. She meets all kinds of creatures and wants to have a great time, but then the Green Wind can’t come with her and she has to go further on her own.

Catherynne created a beautiful world with a lot of creatures that I wouldn’t have thought of, and I think that that was the nicest thing of all. And it wasn’t black and white either. Everything had more than two sides to it.
September wants to help all the people she meets, and that is what makes this adventure dangerous for her. She trusts practically everybody and even though most creatures mean well; some don’t. She goes on a quest like the knights always do, but nothing is as it seems.

About the characters: September was a typical character to play the mainrole in this book. She wanted to go away without saying goodbye to her parents, but on some points she feels sorry for that. She’s just a little girl who gets a lot of possibilities and doesn’t know how to handle all that.
A-through-L, the wyvern of the story (a kind of dragon without the front feet), was the nicest creature I could’ve thought to accompany her on her journey. He was so sweet and caring, and I laughed at his name, because he only knows the things that are A-through-L in dictionaries. And he thinks his dad is a library, haha!
There are many more characters, but I won’t tell you about it: it’s a secret until you read this book for yourself.

I really liked that every chapter had an illustration and a little summary of a few sentences about what’s going to happen. It really made the book stand out and the illustrations were really cute!

If I have children (and they speak English) “when I grow up”, I will definitely let them read this. It’s such a fun book, and I think kids will enjoy it even more than me. I also think that I would’ve enjoyed it more if I’d read it in a longer period of time. I read it in 2 days…

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes fairytales, this is a kind of fairytale, so I think this counts.
I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads and am very curious to read the next book in the series… 🙂

Leave a Reply

