The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

https://thebookatlas.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/b12fe-unfortunate.jpgWhen the three baudelaire kids (Violet, Klaus and Sunny) find out that their parents have died in a fire, they have to move in with Count Olaf. This man isn’t what they’ve hoped, he’s evil and will do anything to get the Baudelaire fortune, which Violet will be able to spend when she comes of age.

This was a really fun read. A short one, as I read it in a few hours, but I absolutely loved it. There were so many nice characters, but also very evil ones, and the way that the kids got out of trouble was really fun to read. These kids are really smart and I would’ve definitely wanted to be their friends if I still were a kid.

I was asking myself if I would let my kids read it (if I had kids), and as it’s a very dark story/series, I think that I would let them read it after they’ve become ten, or even later (and after they learn to speak and read English next to Dutch). But I think that my future kids will like it as much as I do.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars. It’s a sad story, but still a very light read (especially if you’re no kid anymore) and a lot of fun. If I can find the rest of the books for a low price I will definitely get them.

2 thoughts on “The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

  1. Pingback: Charlie Bone Tabloids: Charlie Bone Stirs Up More Trouble! | The Charlie Bone Blog

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Book Challenge: Day 22 | The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm

Leave a Reply

