The Giver by Lois Lowry

The giver is thttp://carrieslager.files.wordpress.com/2012/05/the-giver-by-lois-lowry.jpghe dystopian tale of eleven year old Jonas, who lives in a really different, more futuristic, world than us. His society is based on what the leaders or elders think is the perfect one. Parents can’t have more than 2 kids (one girl and one boy), and they don’t conceive those kids themselves either.

Every year, everyone “ages” in December. The kids who’ve been born the year before, become Ones in this month, during a ceremony of two days where every kid (until twelve years old) celebrate their aging, all together.

When it’s december, Jonas will become a Twelve and be assigned his “task”, and he’s very nervous. The job he gets is one that no one expects, and it changes his life forever.

I really liked this book, it was really nicely written and not too long (which I like) or slow. The pacing was perfect, every event was exciting to know about, and there are many things going on in this world. I didn’t like it when he became a Twelve though, I was scared that it might get boring, reading all about him becoming who he HAS to become…

Lowry thought his world through thoroughly. I couldn’t think of a question that I would like to ask about this world, he told perfectly enough for me to know what I had to know.

This book is part of a series, and there are three more of these. I would love to read these when I have spare time (next to the weekly books I want to review), but I won’t be reviewing those. The ending had a cliffhanger though, so I’m excited for the next book!

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads, because it was a really good read, but not one of those reads that will stay in my head for weeks. Next to that: the transition between Jonas getting to be a Twelve, and the next exciting event was a bit slow.

You can buy this book on bookdepository

One thought on “The Giver by Lois Lowry

  1. You would like the Ender series by Orson Scott Card – similar scenario + I hope you will enjoy his writing style. I writ about Sci-Fi & Fantasy books in my readerreading blog. Some good reads in there.

Leave a Reply

