Book Haul #1 – Thrift Store

I went to the thrift store to get something for someone else but ended up only buying books. For myself. In this post I tell you about these books, and you can expectIMG_8634 me to review some of these in the near future.

The first book I got was “The Kite Runner” by Khaled Hosseini. I’ve already read it the moment I post this. It was a breath taking story. It’s one of those books that made me cry, and that doesn’t happen a lot. I will definitely watch the movie! 🙂

The second book is one I don’t know much about, it’s book #7 from the Charlie Parker series (which I didn’t know until I got home and searched it on goodreads). It’s called “The Reapers” and it’s written by John Connolly. It’s a detective novel apparently. All I know about this one, is that it’s the one book in the series where Charlie Parker isn’t het main character. I bought this book mainly because the book I read by John Connolly (the book of lost things) was a very fun read.

The third one is “Reading Lolita in Tehran” by Azar Nafisi. Another book about a group of girls who struggle with their culture, and it’s in the same “area” as “the girls of Riyadh” I guess. When I read the back I was intrigued by the story of these girls. For them, it’s forbidden to read books by Nabokov, Fitzgerald and many more. This is about the group in which these girls still read those books.

The last book (you’ve already seen it in my last post) is the Dutch version of House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski. A lot of people have read it and said it was great, and creepy. And next to the fact that I want to try that out: the inside of the book is gorgeous. There are pages with random words, music, numbers, just, wow…

Have you read any of these books? If so; what did you think of it? And have you bought books recently?

Leave a Reply

