The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

This book was a to read from a friend of mine, and when I read the synopsys I knew I HAD to read this book. The story is set in England during World War II, and it’s about a 12 y.o. boy, named David, whose mother is really sick and loves reading, just like him. And when she dies, the books in his room start to whisper to him.

This is one of those books that I couldn’t put down. The little boy was a cute character and John Connolly had taken some fairytales and twisted them into new, and very different, stories. I liked the view he had on these tales and loved reading the encounters that David had in this all new world. I LOVE fairytales, especially when authors take them and twist them into new stories. Think of the tales of Grimm, I haven’t read them, but I’ve heard that the tales in this book are just like the Grimm tales.

There are new people in David’s life, a new house, and a new room with the old books of a boy who’d gone away with his sister and has never come back. And when a certain person enters his life, he wants that person to be gone. So begins the battle of consciousness. The real question is: what will he do? What are his choices going to be, and will he ever leave that wonderful and new world?

Once again: brilliant book. This is a book that I will remember for a long time. I won’t have to look up what it’s about anytime soon (maybe in 20 years?), because it’s engraved in my memory.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

